[ garlic cheddar and chive scones ]

First off, let me apologize for the lack of posts the past few weeks…I had a lot of big changes happening in my life, and everything got a bit hectic. But things are starting to settle down now, which means I have more time to bake/DIY/blog!

20140227-224906.jpgYou may remember that I dabbled in the world of scones recently, and I’ve been pretty addicted since then. I finally decided to branch out from that one strawberry scone recipe and try something new. I came across this recipe completely by accident while looking for a different recipe, and I’m so glad it caught my eye because….YUM! I’m having a hard time not inhaling them all in one sitting. The consistency of these scones is perfect: buttery, fluffy, and almost like a biscuit….and really, whats better than garlic, cheese and bread? Read on for instructions!

Ingredients: (makes 12 scones)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt + more for topping
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper + more for topping
  • 1 stick butter (1/2 cup), cold and cut into cubes
  • 2 eggs (one for dough, one for egg wash)
  • 2 tablespoons water, cold
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup fresh chives, chopped
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, grated
  • 2-3 garlic gloves, chopped small (the original recipe called for granulated garlic but I didn’t have any so I just went with the fresh kind)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

20140227-224828.jpgIn a bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar and pepper. Toss the cubes of butter into the flour mixture and cut it in using a pastry cutter or potato masher (or if you have neither, you can just use two knives) until you have a coarse mixture with pea sized crumbs of butter.

20140227-224835.jpgIn a separate bowl, whisk sour cream, 1 egg and water until just combined. Add into flour mixture and stir in until the dough starts to stick together.

20140227-224842.jpgAdd the chives, garlic and cheddar cheese and mix together. Transfer the mixture onto a cutting board or clean surface that has been lightly dusted with flour, and knead with your hands until its fully combined and forms a uniform dough.

20140227-224849.jpgPat or roll the dough out until it’s about an inch thick. The original recipe says to cut out rounds in the dough using a cookie cutter, but I didn’t have one so I simply cut square-ish shapes out of the dough, and formed them into rounds with my hands.

20140227-224855.jpgPlace the rounds on a cookie sheet. Lightly beat the second egg in a bowl, and brush the tops of the scones with the egg. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until it starts browning on the top.

20140227-224901.jpg
Happy Eating!

3 thoughts on “[ garlic cheddar and chive scones ]

  1. Pingback: Frankly, my dear

Leave a Reply

