[ strawberry buttermilk scones ]

20140112-222250.jpgI’ve never made scones before (or even really eaten that many), but after seeing this recipe on Cupcakes & Cashmere (which by the way is my ALL TIME FAVORITE blog, and from a fellow Claremont College alum) I figured it was time to expand my recipe repertoire…and I’m glad I did! It took me a while to decide whether I like them or not (I think mostly because I was expecting it to taste like a cake, which it’s not), but the more I ate it the more addicted I got to it. They were moist and dense, and just sweet enough to satisfy a sweet tooth, but not too sweet where it feels like dessert. My new breakfast favorite!

Ingredients: (I halved the original recipe)

  • 1/2 cup chopped, frozen strawberries (you do NOT need to thaw them, keeping them frozen prevents the berry juices from oozing)
  • 2 1/4 cups + 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 + 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 + 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup + 1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter, chilled
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • Optional: 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest

Topping:

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons butter
  • sugar crystals (regular sugar also works fine)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

20140112-222228.jpgMix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in  a bowl.

20140112-222258.jpgChop 1/2 a cup of strawberries and keep aside. You really don’t need to thaw them, I just rinsed them off a bit to get rid of any icy particles. Keep the pieces small, otherwise they will fall out of the dough.

20140113-173745.jpg Cut the butter into small cubes. Make sure the butter is nicely chilled, you don’t want it to be soft and melted. Add the cubes of butter into the flour mixture.

20140112-222441.jpgNow this is the time consuming part….”cutting” the butter into the flour. Don’t worry if you have no idea what this means, I had to google it myself. But turns out its exactly what it sounds like….using two butter knives, cut the chunks of butter while mixing it into the flour, until you end up with a coarse mixture with pea sized chunks of butter. You don’t want the butter pieces to be too big, but at the same time you don’t want it fully mixed in.

Once you have your coarse mixture, add the strawberries, buttermilk and lemon zest to it (the original recipe called for lemon zest but I didn’t have any so I made do without it and I think it was fine). I first used a spatula to mix the wet ingredients into the flour mixture, and then went in with my hands to form the dough.

20140112-222245.jpgOnce all the ingredients are well combined and your dough holds together, lay it out on a cutting board. This dough is pretty sticky so make sure you flour the board and your hands to prevent it from sticking. I kind of just winged it when forming the dough into it’s shape. but I basically made something in between a square and a circle, and cut triangles out of it like a pizza.

20140112-222332.jpgPlace the triangles onto the baking sheet, and brush the tops of each one with the melted butter. Sprinkle extra sugar on top…I used red sugar crystals to make my scones more colorful.

The original recipe says to bake them for 25-35 minutes, but since my scones were smaller than what the original recipe accounted for, 25 minutes was too much. After halving the ingredients, I got 12 scones when I was supposed to get only 6, so I had to bake mine only for 20 minutes. Take them out of the oven when the tops are browned.

20140113-173921.jpg

Happy Eating!

One thought on “[ strawberry buttermilk scones ]

  1. Pingback: [ garlic cheddar and chive scones ] | Frankly, my dear

Leave a Reply

