[ pumpkin bread pudding ]

20131206-210527.jpg

I mentioned last year how much I LOVE thanksgiving foods, especially pumpkin related desserts (see my pumpkin cinnamon cupcakes), so every year once October arrives I start to crave it. I’m clearly too late for Thanksgiving this year, but there’s still plenty of holiday season left to indulge in pumpkin flavors…especially this delicious pumpkin bread pudding!. I’ve always loved bread pudding but never tried to make it….turns out it is much easier than I thought!

Ingredients: (original recipe found here)

  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk (or 1 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup whole milk)
  • 3/4 cup solid-pack pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, plus 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon all-spice (the original recipe called for a bunch of other spices but I found this to be more than enough)
  • 5 cups cubed bread (crusty bread or old baguettes work best, I used some day-old loaves of ciabbata bread)
  • 2 tablespoons bourbon (optional – I didn’t have any at home this time around)
  • 3/4 stick butter, melted

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Cut or tear the bread into 1-inch cubes. You will need about 5 cups of bread cubes.

20131206-210404.jpg

Toss the bread cubes in bowl with the melted butter, until they’re fully coated.Transfer the bread cubes into an ungreased 8-inch square baking dish.

20131206-210453.jpg

In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, cream/milk, sugar, eggs and egg yolk, salt, spices and bourbon to make the custard.

20131206-210430.jpg

Pour mixture over the bread and mix lightly to make sure all the bread cubes are coated in the custard.

20131206-210505.jpg

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until is custard is set (wiggle the dish a bit to make sure the custard is no longer liquid).

Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 3 tablespoons powdered sugar

Beat cream cheese and sugar together until smooth and blended. Pipe, spread or drizzle over the finished bread pudding. Again, this isn’t my prettiest work, but hey it tastes damn good!

20131206-210514.jpg

I would recommend letting the bread pudding sit for a while before eating….I tried some immediately and it was good, but then when I tried it again the next day it tasted infinitely better, more rich and decadent. Keep it refrigerated and microwave for about 20 seconds before serving. Next time I’m going to skip the cream cheese frosting and try it with some vanilla cream.

20131206-210538.jpg

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

