[ DIY: delicate bead necklace ]

I saw this DIY post on one of my favorite blogs, Cupcakes and Cashmere, and while I was initially skeptical about the difficulty level of this, it’s actually not that hard (done within an hour), and it turned out better than I expected. I even got complimented on it at work (and this was before she knew I made it,which I think makes the compliment even more legit)!

IMG_1050

You will need:

  • Thin gold chain
  • Gold wire
  • Clasps or hooks (optional)
  • Beads
  • Pliers

IMG_1051

Hold the gold chain around your neck to see how long you want your necklace to be. Keep in mind to leave a little space between the two ends of the chain while measuring to accomodate where the beads will go. If you make your chain long enough to slip over your head, ignore steps 2 and 3.

IMG_1052

If your necklace is too short to go around your head, you need to cut it again into two equal halves to be able to attach some sort of clasp or hook.

IMG_1053

You will now have two seperate pieces of gold chain, each of equal length, with one free end and one end with either a clasp or a loop to secure the clasp into.

IMG_1054

The best way to secure the gold wire after looping it through the chain is just twist it around the base of your loop. This step would be easier to do if you have a pair of needle nose pliers , but it’s possible to just do it by hand.

IMG_1047

The number, size and color of beads is entirely your preference, but to keep a more delicate look, go for smaller beads and less of them.

IMG_1048

Once you finish adding your beads, loop and tie the gold wire onto the free end of the other chain.

IMG_1049

And you’re all done! I apologize for the poor quality of some of the pictures (my camera battery was dead and my iphone had to suffice), but I hope the steps are still clear. There are so many possibilities and options with this necklace, and I plan to try out many variations, so keep checking this space.

Happy Crafting!

2 thoughts on “[ DIY: delicate bead necklace ]

  1. Pingback: [DIY : emerald and gold chain necklace ] | Frankly, my dear

Leave a Reply

